Prince2 2009 – What a pleasant surprise!

April 12, 2010 at 09:49 2 comments

Though I got my Prince2 certification in 2002, I was more involved with PMI in the last few years. I wanted to refresh my Prince2 knowledge lately, so I bought the Prince2 2009 PDF guide (in German). Thanks Andreas for the link! (See for all available languages here). And what should I say… I was really really surprised. Positively!

There is only one little downer: The DRM (digital rights management) on the PDF document is pretty tight. For close to 90 EUR it is not exactly a bargain, but you can only read it in Adobe Digital Editions with your personal ID, and you’re allowed to print it ONCE. Fingers crossed the printer has a good day when you try it. Mac users be aware – doing ‘Print Preview’ counts as printing already. Ummm.

Now back to the guide and methodology: From my ‘first contact’ with Prince2 at the beginning of the 2000’s, I remembered it as being a really academic read, very bureaucratic process,… The new guide is really easy to digest – nicely structured, modern layout, linked, etc. The content feels much closer now to real project life.

I also like the new method construction with the ‘principles’ and the ‘themes’ and that the authors made very explicit that it is more important to live the principles rather than mechanically following some documented process in brain switched-off mode. What is also nice are things like specific guidance on tailoring / scaling the methodology based on certain project types (more than 20 pages).

So much for my first impressions. Good job, OGC folks! And b.t.w. there is a nice vodcast from Andy Murray here (plus others).

Entry filed under: Books and Papers, Project Management. Tags: , .

A little confession No Prince2 manual on the iPhone?!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nigel  |  April 12, 2010 at 13:11

    Glad you like it. I wrote 60% of it ;-)

    Now buy the templates:

    http://store.outperform.co.uk/

    Nigel

    Reply
    • 2. Susanne Bartel  |  April 12, 2010 at 21:18

      Hi Nigel,
      That explains everything of course :-D
      I might need a German template set, will have a chat with Mike W.
      Cheers,
      Susanne

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers